- What are my options?
- Is it Possible to Win a California DUI Case?
- What are the Penalties for California DUI Conviction?
- What Will Happen at Court?
- Why do I Need to Contact the California DMV within 10 days of My Arrest?
- Can California DMV Administrative Hearings be Won?
- How Long Will All This Take?
- What are the Costs Involved?
- Why should I Hire DUI Crew?
What are my Options?
Unless you’re willing to accept the maximum DUI penalties, it is necessary to ask the judge for time to find an attorney. A qualified legal representative can help you explore various DUI defense options including pursuit of case dismissal, plea bargain negotiation, and trying the case in court.
Is it Possible to Win a California DUI Case?
The answer is yes. Dui Crew has an extensive track record of fighting and winning DUI cases. It is not only possible to get DUI charges reduced, but in some cases we are able to get them entirely dismissed. A number of DUI defenses have proven successful in prior cases including challenging blood alcohol concentration measurements and arguing constitutional violations.
DUI Crew will systematically review police reports for inconsistencies and lapses in procedures. We will also request complete disclosure regarding the device used to test your blood alcohol level, the personnel involved in the maintenance and operation of the device, and the lab certification.
What are the Penalties for California DUI Conviction?
Possible penalties for a California DUI include:
Incarceration from a few days in county jail to many years in state prison
Probation, either formal (with a probation officer) or informal
Monetary damages in the form of fines, penalties, and restitution
Restriction, suspension or revocation of your California Driver License
Mandatory attendance at treatment programs
Installation of ignition interlock device
The imposition and severity of these various DUI penalties can vary depending on prior DUI convictions and the circumstances of the current case.
In addition to state sanctions, DUI convictions almost always result in significantly higher insurance premiums, and in some cases can affect your employment.
What Will Happen at Court?
On your ticket, or somewhere in your paperwork, the date, time and location of your first court appearance will be listed. If you have not hired an attorney by then, you must attend court on that date and time. After the attorney-represented cases the judge will begin calling on the non-attorney cases.
The judge will ask you to enter a plea to the charges. At this time you must plead either not guilty or guilty. Depending on your plea, the judge will ask you several questions to determine whether you want to waive your constitutional rights, including your right to a speedy trial.
If you plead guilty, it is likely the judge will pass sentence immediately. Depending on the charges you are facing, the county you are charged in, and the specific judge, this sentence may vary. Most DUI crimes require, at minimum, some time in jail or a program in lieu of jail time, a drinking driver program, a substantial fine, and probation.
Why do I Need to Contact the California DMV within 10 days of My Arrest?
After you are arrested for a California DUI, you are facing two different proceedings – the DMV and the courts. You must contact the California DMV to request an Administrative Hearing within 10 days of arrest to protect your driving privileges. Even if you spent time in jail, or it was a weekend, you still only have 10 days to request an Administrative Hearing. Temporary driver licenses issued to DUI defendants will expire after 30 days, but driving privileges will be extended until a DMV hearing has been held and a decision is rendered.
If you win the California DMV hearing, your driving privileges will be protected until the courts render a decision (which can also be favorable).
Can California DMV Administrative Hearings be Won?
Yes. DUI Crew has a great deal of experience defending and winning California DMV Administrative Hearings. In order to restrict your driving privilege in California, the DMV Hearing Officer must make three determinations:
Who was driving the vehicle
Whether the police officer had “reasonable cause” to pull over and arrest the driver (which can be a complicated legal question)
Whether the driver had a blood alcohol concentration of .08 or above (which is open to many challenges)
A vigorous and knowledgeable defense possibly including expert witnesses can raise some serious questions about one or more of these criteria.
How Long Will All This Take?
Unless you’re willing to plead guilty at your first court hearing, a DUI defense can take a minimum of several months. More complicated DUI cases can last six months to a year as they wind through the court and DMV systems. Felony DUI cases (involving accidents) or cases with multiple priors may endure for several years. With DUI Crew, upon reviewing the individual circumstances of your case during a Free DUI Defense Consultation, we will provide you an estimated time.
What are the Costs Involved?
There are a number of potential costs that come with a DUI including court costs, fines, attorney fees, expert witnesses, traffic school, and increased insurance premiums. Even in the best of circumstances where all charges are dropped, once arrested for a DUI you should expect to pay a minimum of several thousand dollars for various expenses. More complex DUI cases can exceed ten thousand dollars after insurance, fines, and defense fees are included.
DUI Crew reviews these circumstances during a Free DUI Defense Consultation, which allows you to know exactly what your attorney fees will be before retaining us.
Why should I Hire DUI Crew?
For over several years, we have been committed to providing premium DUI defense at affordable rates. DUI defense is what we specialize in, and we do it well.
You will get the DUI attorneys who know the law, have a proven track record of successful DUI defense, and are willing to go the distance for you.
If you are charged with a DUI in San Diego, call DUI Crew today!